Wednesday, January 15, 2014

january's Owl Moon


 
Call it the Cold Moon, Embers moon, Moon After Yule, Deep Snows Moon, Strong Cold Moon, Long Nights Moon, The First moon, The Howling spirits Moon, Pine Moon it is a new beginning Moon, the first Full Moon of a year that began on a New Moon.   The Wolf Moon is the name most often used for the Full Moon of January.
 
 
 "Broken Silence" by Collin Bogle

The night sky looks like velvet sprinkled with diamonds, and the snow crunches underfoot, and tree limbs clatter and rattle in the breeze,  other than that it is silent, not even a distant train whistle, or rumbling "semi".   I have watched the moon grow fuller, since the New Year, and thought about the promise of change that came with it.  Time has dissolved,  under this silent sky, and what a soaring feeling that is.   I watched. trying to catch a glimpse of the Aurora Borealis through a break in the clouds one night. Each night I wait to hear an owl calling for a mate. 



This full moon will look a bit different, a bit smaller, because the earth is farther away from it.



**********************************************************************************
The crest of the moon’s full phase comes on January 16, 2014 at precisely 4:52 UTC. Although the full moon occurs at the same instant all around the world, our clock reads differently in different time zones. In the United States, the moon turns exactly full on Wednesday, January 15, at 11:52 p.m. EST, 10:52 p.m. CST, 9:52 p.m. MST or 8:52 p.m. PST.

                                              ~~~Earth Sky   http://earthsky.org/tonight/micro-moon-years-smallest-full-moon-on-january-15-16

**********************************************************************************


No comments:

wooden xylophone in the woods

Smitten by the image and sound of a xylophone in the forest, I  keep watching this video and try to image  it in along my favorite woodland ...